Charles W. W. Mitchell, III, P.E.


Charlie joined RK&K in 2014 and is currently a Project Manager in the Site Development group. He has experience designing and managing civil site and transportation projects for private developers, higher education, municipal and institutional facilities. Prior to RK&K he was a project manager for the Federal Government.

Charlie received Honors Bachelor of Civil Engineering and Master of Civil Engineering degrees from the University of Delaware. He was selected as the Young Civil Engineer of the Year by ASCE Maryland in 2017. Charlie is a PE in Maryland and Virginia and also certified as a Rescue Diver.

Charlie has been active in the ASCE Maryland section since 2015, in multiple leadership positions. He started in ASCE as a member of the University of Delaware Student Chapter in 2005 . 

Vice President

Kristopher Shea, P.E.


Kristopher Shea is a design engineer with the transportation department at Century Engineering, Inc. (CEI).  Kristopher has been an active member in the Maryland Section of ASCE since 2014 and has served as the Programs Chair for the chapter since 2016.  Kristopher earned his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Maryland in 2013 and served on the Capstone Judges Panel in the years following his graduation.  Kristopher has also been an active member of the Engineers Softball League since joining the Century/AECOM team in 2014.



Rachel H. Sangree, Ph.D., P.E.

Johns Hopkins Universityrsangree@ascemd.org

Rachel is a Lecturer in the Department of Civil Engineering at Johns Hopkins University, where she teaches undergraduate courses and manages the part-time master’s degree program in Civil Engineering through JHU’s Engineering for Professionals. She is also the faculty advisor to the JHU Student Chapter of ASCE. Rachel earned BS and MS degrees in Civil Engineering from Bucknell University and a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from Johns Hopkins. In addition to her teaching experience, Rachel worked for three years as a design engineer in the bridge design group at Whitman, Requardt, and Associates in Baltimore.



Sarah Taylor, P.E.

Gannett Flemingstaylor@ascemd.org

Sarah is a Project Engineer in the Water group at Gannett Fleming where she is responsible for design and management of water, wastewater, and environmental infrastructure projects. Prior to GF she was a Regulatory and Compliance Engineer with MDE. Sarah received a Bachelor of Civil Engineering with a Minor in Environmental Engineering from the University of Delaware in 2011. Sarah has been an active member in the Maryland Section of ASCE since 2013. She has served as the co-chair of the Younger Member Group and the Programs Chair for the section. 

Director, Past President


Kelly Ambrose, P.E.


Kelly Ambrose is a senior project engineer with the bridge design group at Whitman, Requardt and Associates, LLP (WRA).  Kelly has been an active member in the Maryland Section of ASCE since 2012.  She has served as the co-chair of the Younger Member Group, the Younger Member appointed Director on the Board in 2015-2016, Director in 2017-2018, and Secretary, Vice President and President.  Kelly earned her honors bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering from the University of Delaware where she was an active member of the university’s chapter of Engineers Without Borders.  Kelly is also commissioner of WRA’s cornhole league.

Director, Past President


Rosanna LaPlante, P.E.


Rosanna is an award-winning Division Manager with the WSSC, Engineering and Environmental Services Division, maintaining the Engineering Center of Excellence which supports the entire Commission with a variety of engineering needs. Prior to that she worked for Baltimore City, Department of Public Works where she led and managed the Department Environmental Project Delivery Section, overseeing the City $300 million capital program for stormwater infrastructure. Mrs. La Plante is especially renowned for her professional leadership in various engineering organizations and her service as a mentor for STEM students as an Ambassador for local high schools. She has chaired and served on five technical committees of the ASCE Environmental and Water Resources Institute (EWRI). She has also served on the Board of Directors for the Society of Military Engineers, Baltimore Post and currently serves on the Board of Directors as the First Vice-President for the Engineering Society of Baltimore.  Mrs. La Plante has received the ASCE Maryland Civil Engineer of 2019 and five other awards for her engineering management, professional engineering leadership, mentoring, and her civil and environmental engineering expertise.



Danielle Brady


Danielle is a Structural Engineer with the Facilities Structures and Coastal Engineering department with Johnson, Mirmiran & Thompson, Inc. (JMT). Danielle received her Bachelors degree in Applied Mathematics from Towson University and a Masters of Engineering degree from The University of Maryland in Civil and Environmental Engineering with a focus on Structural Engineering. She has been a member of ASCE since 2011, and was involved with the University of Maryland’s ASCE student chapter. 



Clint Martin


Clint is a Civil Engineer in the Land Development team of Whitman, Requardt and Associates, LLP (WRA). He enjoys strategizing unique solutions for sites that exhibit challenging water resources management constraints. He earned B.S. and M.S. degrees in Civil Engineering, both from Virginia Tech. He has been a member of ASCE since 2012 and led the EWRI/COPRI Graduate Student Chapter at Virginia Tech in 2016. On his days off, you will most likely find Clint in the forest.

Director, Younger Member

Sheharyar Qureshi, EIT


Sheharyar is a Roadway/Drainage Engineer at Metric. He is experienced in erosion sediment control, stormwater management, site layout, and utility design. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Maryland College Park. He has been a member of ASCE since 2015. In his free time, he enjoys playing basketball, hiking, and travelling.   


Interested in joining a committee? Contact the committee directly or email president@ascemd.org

Branches & Institutes

Awards Committee



Gerald Doughertygdougherty@ascemd.org

Digital Technology

David McDowelldmcdowell@ascemd.org

Future Cities

James Brown

Government Relations

Carrie Nicholsoncnicholson@ascemd.org


Kylie Snyderksnyder@ascemd.org


Deanna Schreiberdschreiber@ascemd.org


Rosanna LaPlanterlaplante@ascemd.org


Emily Wesselewessel@ascemd.org


Stephanie Richmondsrichmond@ascemd.org

Pre-College Outreach

Rachel Sangreersangree@ascemd.org


Keith Duerlingkduerling@ascemd.org


Wood Bridge

Michael Newman

Younger Members

Sheharyar Qureshisqureshi@ascemd.org

Catoctin Branch

Robert Kaincatoctin@ascemd.org

Eastern Shore Branch

John Reddenjredden@ascemd.org

Enviro. & Water Resources

Daniel O’Learydoleary@ascemd.org


Charbel KhouryBryan Shivegeo@ascemd.org

Struc. Eng. Institute (SEI)


Utility Engineering and Surveying Institute