Leadership

President

Rosanna LaPlante, P.E.

WSSCrlaplante@ascemd.org

Rosanna is an award-winning Division Manager with the WSSC, Engineering and Environmental Services Division, maintaining the Engineering Center of Excellence which supports the entire Commission with a variety of engineering needs. Prior to that she worked for Baltimore City, Department of Public Works where she led and managed the Department Environmental Project Delivery Section, overseeing the City $300 million capital program for stormwater infrastructure. Mrs. La Plante is especially renowned for her professional leadership in various engineering organizations and her service as a mentor for STEM students as an Ambassador for local high schools. She has chaired and served on five technical committees of the ASCE Environmental and Water Resources Institute (EWRI). She has also served on the Board of Directors for the Society of Military Engineers, Baltimore Post and currently serves on the Board of Directors as the First Vice-President for the Engineering Society of Baltimore. Mrs. La Plante has received the ASCE Maryland Civil Engineer of 2019 and five other awards for her engineering management, professional engineering leadership, mentoring, and her civil and environmental engineering expertise.

Vice President

Kelly Ambrose, P.E.

WRAkambrose@ascemd.org

Kelly Ambrose is a project engineer with the bridge design group at Whitman, Requardt and Associates, LLP (WRA). Kelly has been an active member in the Maryland Section of ASCE since 2012. She has served as the co-chair of the Younger Member Group, the Younger Member appointed Director on the Board in 2015-2016, Director in 2017-2018, and Secretary the past two years. Kelly earned her honors bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering from the University of Delaware where she was an active member of the university’s chapter of Engineers Without Borders. Kelly is also commissioner of WRA’s cornhole league.

Secretary

Kristopher Shea, P.E.

Century Engineeringkshea@ascemd.org

Kristopher Shea is a design engineer with the transportation department at Century Engineering, Inc. (CEI). Kristopher has been an active member in the Maryland Section of ASCE since 2014 and has served as the Programs Chair for the chapter since 2016. Kristopher earned his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Maryland in 2013 and served on the Capstone Judges Panel in the years following his graduation. Kristopher has also been an active member of the Engineers Softball League since joining the Century/AECOM team in 2014.

Treasurer

Charles W. W. Mitchell, III, PE

RK&Kcmitchell@ascemd.org

Charlie joined RK&K in 2014 and is currently a Senior Project Engineer in the Site Development group. He has experience designing and managing civil site and transportation projects for private developers, higher education, municipal and institutional facilities. Prior to RK&K he was a project manager for the Federal Government.

Charlie received Honors Bachelor of Civil Engineering and Master of Civil Engineering degrees from the University of Delaware. He was selected as the Young Civil Engineer of the Year by ASCE Maryland in 2017. Charlie is a Maryland PE and also certified as an Emergency Medical Technician and a Rescue Diver.

Charlie has been active in the ASCE Maryland section since 2015 primarily as the Digital Technology Chairman. He started in ASCE as a member of the University of Delaware Student Chapter in 2005 .

Past President & Director

Franz (Alex) Ollerman, P.E., C.M.

Maryland Aviation Administrationaollerman@ascemd.org

Alex is the Manager of Landside Planning for the Maryland Aviation Administration (MAA). He began his career as an airfield pavement engineer for Eckrose/Green in Madison, WI. He later moved to Law Engineering in Beltsville, MD, working on projects for MAA, PANYNJ, and MDSHA OMT. Alex started with the MAA in 2002 and has worked in both its engineering and planning departments. He has 20 years of experience working for airports around the globe. Alex earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Civil Engineering at North Dakota State University. He has been active in ASCE and TRB, lately serving a two-year term as Secretary and as Vice President for the Maryland Section of ASCE.

Director

Alvaro Sifuentes, P.E.

Jacobs

Alvaro is a Group Leader and Senior Project Manager in the Transportation group at Jacobs. He has over 19 years of experience in multimodal transportation projects from the early feasibility stage, environmental process through final design. Alvaro has served as Project Manager and design/segment lead on many major highway and transit projects for clients throughout the east coast. Alvaro earned a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Maryland and a Master’s in Business Administration from Georgetown University.

Director

Rachel H. Sangree, Ph.D., P.E.

Johns Hopkins Universityrsangree@ascemd.org

Rachel is a Lecturer in the Department of Civil Engineering at Johns Hopkins University, where she teaches undergraduate courses and manages the part-time master’s degree program in Civil Engineering through JHU’s Engineering for Professionals. She is also the faculty advisor to the JHU Student Chapter of ASCE. Rachel earned BS and MS degrees in Civil Engineering from Bucknell University and a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from Johns Hopkins. In addition to her teaching experience, Rachel worked for three years as a design engineer in the bridge design group at Whitman, Requardt, and Associates in Baltimore.

Director

Danielle Lambert

JMTdlambert@ascemd.org

Danielle is a Structural Engineer with the Facilities Structures and Coastal Engineering department with Johnson, Mirmiran & Thompson, Inc. (JMT). Danielle received her Bachelors degree in Applied Mathematics from Towson University and a Masters of Engineering degree from The University of Maryland in Civil and Environmental Engineering with a focus on Structural Engineering. She has been a member of ASCE since 2011, and was involved with the University of Maryland’s ASCE student chapter.

Committees

Interested in joining a committee? Contact the committee directly or email president@ascemd.org

Branches & Institutes

Awards Committee

John Malinowskijohn.malinowski@baltimorecity.gov

Audits

Gerald Doughertygdougherty@ascemd.org

Digital Technology

David McDowelldmcdowell@ascemd.org

Future Cities

James Brown

Government Relations

Carrie Nicholsoncnicholson@ascemd.org

History and Heritage

Michael O’Connormoconner@ascemd.org

Hospitality

Kylie Snyderksnyder@ascemd.org

Membership

Jim Kramperthjkramperth@ascemd.org

Nominations

Alex Ollermanaollerman@ascemd.org

Publicity

Emily Deanedean@ascemd.org

Programs

Kristopher Sheakshea@ascemd.org

Pre-College Outreach

Rachel Sangreersangree@ascemd.org

Scholarship

Keith Duerlingkduerling@ascemd.org

Wood Bridge

Michael Newman

Younger Members

Deanna Schreiberdschreiber@ascemd.org
Clint Martincmartin@ascemd.org

Catoctin Branch

Steve Crumscrum@ascemd.org

Eastern Shore Branch

Aaron Golleragoller@ascemd.org

Enviro. & Water Resources

Daniel O’Learydoleary@ascemd.org

Geo-Institute

Charbel KhouryBryan Shivegeo@ascemd.org

Struc. Eng. Institute (SEI)

Micah Cearymceary@ascemd.org

Utility Engineering and Surveying Institute

Mark Geraghtyuesi@ascemd.org