News‎ > ‎

Member Appreciation and Celebration at June Event

posted Jul 31, 2016, 11:15 AM by Charles Mitchell   [ updated Jul 31, 2016, 11:15 AM ]
The Maryland Section of ASCE celebrated its members, recognized individuals, project teams, and Section sponsors, and toasted Baltimore City during its annual spring member appreciation and award event held, for the first time, at the Baltimore Visitor Center on the Inner Harbor, Thursday, June 9.

Over 150 attendees including engineers from public agencies and the private sector and their families and guests enjoyed music, games, food, drink, and good company. It was a jubilant evening in the vein of celebrating, advocating for, and planning the future of civil engineering in Maryland.

The Maryland Section Awards Committee announced the Civil Engineer of the Year, Young Civil Engineers of the Year, Outstanding Educator, recipients of awards for Meritorious Service to the Civil Engineering Profession, and Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievements.

Enabled by volunteer leaders and organizers – members who give of their time, experience, enthusiasm, and resources to the benefit of all of the Section’s members – and its sponsors, the Maryland Section Board gave its appreciation to the volunteers and sponsors who helped make this year a success and thanked them for contributions to the Maryland Section members, ASCE, and the industry.

2015-2016 session volunteer leaders and organizers included the following:

Catoctin Branch Board
Steve Dlugos, President
Steve Crum, Vice-President
Hamid Toossi, Treasurer
Doug Li, Secretary
Rick MacInnes, Director

Eastern Shore Branch Board
Darl Kolar, President
Jeff Harman, Vice-President
Fernando Garcia-Monzon, Treasurer
Aaron Goller, Secretary
Lee Beauchamp, Director
Amanda Pollack, Director.

Rosanna LaPlante, Chair
Nathaniel Krause, Vice-Chair
Rahul Kesarkar, Treasurer
Xiadong Zhang, Secretary
Bola Fashokun, Past Chair, Director

Geo-Institute Chair
Greg Simmons

SEI Board
Susanne Wassenius, President
Geoffrey Dilg, Vice-President
Marcus Gursky, Treasurer
Ani Chatterjee, Secretary
Matt McCarty, Past President, Director

Younger Member Group
Kelly Ambrose, Co-Chair
Ian Roddy, Co-Chair

Hospitality Committee
Dan Hitchko
Megan Nolan
Ken Shimomoto

Website Lead
Charlie Mitchell

Newsletter Editor
Anthony DeGuiseppi

Region 2 Advisors
Bill Brittle
Christina Casole

2015-2016 Section sponsors included the following:
Century Engineering
Development Facilitators, Inc.
EBA Engineering, Inc.
Gannett Fleming
Michael Baker
Phoenix Engineering
Schnabel Engineering
Simpson Strong Tie
Wallace Montgomery and Associates
Whitman Requardt and Associates
WSP|Parsons Brinckerhoff